DRAGONSLAYER, the third full band album by Sunset Rubdown (second for Jagjaguwar), will be released on June 23rd in North America.

Sunset Rubdown was once the moniker under which Spencer Krug released low fidelity solo recordings, but the project has since evolved into a full band. The music for DRAGONSLAYER was written in 2007 and 2008 and recorded in the fall of 2008. Sunset Rubdown hopes that this album that sounds at first to be an only slightly skewed approach to pop is like that friend of yours who looks unassuming and normal, but once you get to know him, it’s obvious he’s basically crazy.

The three original musicians with which Spencer Krug chose to expand his solo project into a full-fledged band are: Jordan Robson-Cramer on drums, guitar and keys, Michael Doerksen on guitar, bass and cosmic radio and Camilla Wynne Ingr on keys and percussion and vocals. DRAGONSLAYER also features, for the first time, new member, bassist and sometimes-drummer, Mark Nicol.

1. Silver Moons
2. Idiot Heart
3. Apollo and the Buffalo and Anna Anna Anna Oh!
4. Black Swan
5. Paper Lace
6. You Go On Ahead (Trumpet Trumpet II)
7. Nightingale / December Song
8. Dragon’s Lair

Sunset Rubdown will also release what is arguably the cutest looking picture disc of 2009: a 7″ (available first week of April) on Aagoo Records, Sunset Rubdown Introducing Moonface, featuring the songs “Coming to the Dawn” and “Insane Love is Awakening”.

The band is heading to Europe for a string of dates, here is the full list:

04-18 La Maronquinerie Paris, France
04-20 Patronaat Haarlem, Netherlands
04-21 Franzis Wetzlar, Germany
04-22 Club Manufaktur Schorndorf, Germany
04-23 Club 007 Strahov Prague, Czech Republic
04-24 Donau Festival Krems, Austria
04-25 Avant Fest Moscow, Russia
04-27 Teatar & TD Zagreb, Croatia
04-29 Manggha Krakow, Poland
04-30 Hydrozagadka Warsaw, Poland
05-02 Pop Revo Festival Aarhus, Denmark

Thanks to washingmachine for posting the info!