Swan Lake tour?

photo cred: me

The other day I came across an interesting bit of news on the Jagjaguwar website. The post was in regards to Swan Lake’s new record ‘Enemy Mine’ coming out March 24th. I assumed it was just a press release, however at the very bottom of the post read the following:

SWAN LAKE does not currently have any tour plans but is easily https://www.rossitchpediatricdentistry.com/buy-clomid-online/ swayed by gold doubloons and/or enthusiastic mobs.

This sentence inspired me to create an online petition entitled ‘Lets get Swan Lake to Tour’. Although there are misspellings, the general idea is to essentially get enough signatures to constitute a mob and therefore persuade the band to tour. So please sign the petition and help us to get Swan Lake to a town near you!

Enemy Mine

Photo by Jody Rogac

A new bio for Swan Lake has surfaced with more details about their new record Enemy Mine:

Swan Lake is the musical group featuring celebrated songwriter-mystics Daniel Bejar (of Destroyer and New Pornographers), Spencer Krug (of Sunset Rubdown and Wolf Parade) and Carey Mercer (of Frog Eyes and Blackout Beach). Together they recorded Enemy Mine, their nine-song second album, in Victoria, British Columbia, in early 2008, a little more than a year after the release of their well-received debut collaboration, Beast Moans, also on Jagjaguwar.

While their debut album was a beautifully-weaved mash-up of their disparate song-writing styles, often with layer upon layer of various melodies and stylistics thrown into a collaborative cauldron to magical, and at times discordant effect, their second album Enemy Mine reflects a more strippeddown, more deliberate approach to collaboration. It’s as if they really tried to just make nice songs together. To quote Krug, “There’s architecture here.” Not that the lyric is about collaboration—it fits nicely though.

It is the band’s contention that this is the first known use of a “court painting” as a record cover used in popular music. As a result of this enthusiasm, the band had planned on calling the album Before the Law, a beloved Kafka parable and a reference to this court painting. However, the band is tired of being tagged as “literary”, so they dubbed the record Enemy Mine, a beloved movie from Bejar’s youth, and a good metaphor for collaboration.
From SC Distrobution:
Enemy Mine will be released in both CD and LP formats. There will also be a pre-order campaign with stores and through mailorder, allowing consumers to immediately receive MP3s of the album with pre-order purchase. The LP will contain a digital download coupon for free MP3s of the full album.

Thanks to ededitedit for posting this on the forum.

news news news


Sorry for the delay folks, we were having some technical problems. The big news this week is the announcement of the second Swan Lake record entitled ‘Enemy Mine’. At this time there is no official word from Jagjaguwar about this release. Therefore, the unofficial release date is March 24th, 2009, and here is the unofficial tracklist:

1. Spanish Gold, 2044
2. Paper Lace
3. Heartswarm
4. Settle on Your Skin
5. Ballad of a Swan Lake, Or, Daniel’s Song
6. Peace
7. Spider
8. A Hand at Dusk
9. Warlock Psychologist

Here’s a post from Carey Mercer’s Blog about the cover art:

Enemy Mine: I think that it is the first time a band has ever used a “court painting” as a record cover. I bought this painting in Penticton, BC, where my wife Melanie grew up. It’s hot in the summer: you go to the lake, or you go to town and walk around the air-conditioned antique shops. There are lots of old people in Penticton. It has been an old person mecca for years, so the antique stores are a treasure trove of cool stuff. The above painting was hanging on a wall beside a portrait of Prince Charles. I only had twenty-five dollars. Both paintings were priced at fourty-five dollars. I love Prince Charles–he’s so regal and handsome. But I also love stories, and mysteries, and this painting has a lot of mystery. I talked the proprietor down to twenty-five dollars. I am still waiting on compensation from the rest of the band and the label for my expense, despite several stern emails and legal warnings. I love the way that no one is looking at each other. Post-Script: The back cover is a photograph of a court-room in Prague by Vancouver photographer Chris Frey. It’s quite beautiful and nebulous.

In our last post, we stated that the release date for the new Handsome Furs record, Face Control had been pushed back to March 10th, 2009. According to a reliable source, the reason for the push back is rather interesting. It seems that the Furs have referenced a New Order song in the track ‘All We Want, Baby, Is Everything’ (aka Heaven). In order to use the reference, the band needed to legally clear it with New Order. This took some time to do and caused the release to be pushed back. The Furs have also added a new tour date to their current European tour with more tour dates on the way. To see a full list of Handsome Fur’s tour dates, check their tour dates section.