Handsome Furs- Discography

Sound Kapital
June 28, 2011
label: Sub Pop

01 When I Get Back
02 Damage
03 Bury Me Standing
04 Memories of the Future
05 Serve the People
06 What About Us
07 Repatriated
08 Cheap Music
09 No Feelings

Sound Kapital is the third full-length from Handsome Furs, the Canadian two-piece of husband and wife Dan Boeckner and Alexei Perry. It’s also the first Handsome Furs album written exclusively on keyboards. This was a conscious decision. Here in 2011, the suggestion that electronic music is cold, alien or unfeeling, somehow detached from the human experience, is as lingering as it is outdated. Handsome Furs don’t just shrug off this myth on Sound Kapital, they reject it with every fiber of their shared being. On this new album they use keyboards and drum machines to forge life-affirming anthems taut with muscle and blood. These nine songs of innocence and experience occasionally look ahead to a better world in the not-so-distant future, but Handsome Furs know what time it is: Now. They are fully engaged in the moment and their surroundings, wherever that may be.

Sound Kapital was recorded quickly, polished and rehearsed in the Furs’ derelict Montreal studio, then preserved for posterity by longtime producers Howard Bilerman and Arlen Thompson at Hotel2Tango, mixed by Finnish dudes Antti Joas and Jonas Verwijnen at Kaiku Studios in Helsinki and Berlin, and mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering in Montreal.

Cold, alien and unfeeling? Hardly. Sound Kapital is hot, noisy, over-stimulated… and ready to take on the world.

Face Control
February 3rd, 2009
label: Sub Pop

01 Legal Tender
02 Evangeline
03 Talking Hotel Arbat Blues
04 (Passport Kontrol)
05 All We Want, Baby, Is Everything
06 I’m Confused
07 (White City)
08 Nyet Spasiba
09 Officer of Hearts
10 (It’s Not Me, It’s You)
11 Thy Will Be Done
12 Radio Kaliningrad

Face Control is the second album by Montreal’s Handsome Furs, 2007’s Plague Park was their first. Alexei Perry and Dan Boeckner wrote the songs on Face Control together, as one. The album was recorded and mixed by Arlen Thompson at Mount Zoomer. It was mastered by Harris Newman at Hotel2Tango. It will be released on February 3rd, 2009.

Plague Park
May 22nd, 2007
label: Sub Pop

01 What We Had
02 Hearts of Iron
03 Handsome Furs Hate This City
04 Snakes on the Ladder
05 Cannot Get, Started
06 Sing! Captain
07 Dead + Rural
08 Dumb Animals
09 The Radio’s Hot Sun

The duo of Handsome Furs began as an idea in the winter of 2006, comprised of Vancouver residents Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade) and his fiance, Alexei Perry. Dark and minimal while noisy and earnest, the point was to be as sparse and repetitive as possible with the help of little more than vocals, guitars, and a new drum machine. Through this, songs of earthbound captains, eggs made of gold and iron, and sleepless bodies were born. Boeckner’s disenchanted vocals thinly resonate while cloaked in a frenzied undertone of fear and uncertainty, all punctuated by bare drum machine beats. Through the course of each track, a deep-seated sense of longing struggles with staunch realism as a restless disdain for both urban life and smaller towns collide. Handsome Furs toured Europe before writing any songs. They have since opened for the likes of David Cross and Modest Mouse before releasing a proper record. Recorded at Wolf Parade’s studio, Mount Zoomer, in the heart of December, Plague Park is their debut. It is a record of melancholic tendency and heartfelt desire; a stripped-down symphony roaming between city and country, and made for ears of either side.